To All The Moms NOT on Vacation Christmas Week

Christmas Spread So, my dear hubby scored the much-coveted Christmas week for vacation this year… which is nice for him because he works nights and, with the kids home for Christmas break, God and I know he would NOT get any sleep around here this week. It’s nice having him home to spend some time with us!

On the first evening of his vacation, Daddy put on his coat to make an apple juice run. My Big Little Man — now ten pounds smaller than his genetically- but no longer so physically-identical brother — asked with trepidation, “Daddy, you go to work?” Daddy replied happily, “No! I’m on va-ca-tion this week. That means I don’t have to go to work! AND, you are also on va-ca-tion! That means you don’t have to go to school this week!”

IMGP0356The Big Little Man responded, “Me? No school?”

“That’s right. You’re on va-ca-tion!” Daddy repeated.

“Oh, va-ca-tion? Lala too? (his sister)

“Yep, Lala’s on va-ca-tion too!” smiled Daddy.

“My brother?”

Daddy responded, “Yep, on va-ca-tion!”

“Mommy?”

“Um…

Ah…

No! Mommy is NOT on vacation!”

(SOOOO NOT right!)

Read a bit about our Christmas here.

About Maggie

I'm a stay-at-home mother of 3 children including a 15-year-old daughter, the Old Soul, and 11-year-old identical twin boys who've been blessed with an extra 21st chromosome (aka: Down Syndrome). I happily spend my time doing all that I can do -- breaking the proverbial box wide open -- to foster my children's development and then sharing what I learn with you through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To All The Moms NOT on Vacation Christmas Week

  1. Daiane says:

    Dear Maggie,

    My name is Daiane Goulart. I Study BA (hons) Design in Products and Interaction at Ravensbourne College of Design and Comunication, in London. I am writing to you to speak about your childrens. I am designing an Interactive Toy (sort of ‘Radio Drum’ with interactive music and games) as my final project for this term at University.
    My User group is Children. A lot of research has been already done about Down Syndrome. The product is been developed and a few changes need to be added, such as colours, set of bottons and handle.
    I am mostly interested about her motore coordination, in how they play, about their ‘top five toys’, what they like what they don’t etc.
    Therefore, I am looking for ways to expand my vision about how I could make this product better. I would like to kindly ask if we could have a chat via e-mail or Skype, as you prefer. Whilst I speak, I had hoped for only a short conversation regarding everyday routine, games, preferid colours as well as the difficulties and experiences you has developed as a Mom of 3.
    The outcome of this short experience could be beneficial for both of us. I will also have to provide feedback to my University group about my progress, a process which would expand our knowledge; becoming better students and better designers.

    E-mail: d.massuchin@students.rave.ac.uk
    My University website: http://www.rave.ac.uk

    Thank you for your time, I look forward to your reply.

    Kind Regards,
    Daiane

  2. Crayon on the Wall has nominated you for a Liebster Award. Read more about it here: http://wp.me/p2j54d-2i

Leave a Reply

