A-Political Again

Oy, not ANOTHER political phone call! In the end, I was briskly thanked for my time and effectively hung-up on by a conservative, Romney/Ryan campaign support organization. It seems they’ve made yet another anti-Obama movie and are looking for ME to send them money to… what? Support the distribution, get the word out, make another movie? I don’t quite know. I explained that I don’t support candidate bashing no matter which side it’s coming from. And, if they wanted my support they should make a viable movie about what valuable skillsets, experience and ideas Romney/Ryan bring to the table… instead of focusing on the lies Obama has told us.

The original caller was concerned about my distaste and made it clear that Romney didn’t personally drive or support their efforts on his behalf and I should not “blame” him for the call or tact… but could I please just listen to the pre-recorded message about the movie. I did… But only because she asked nicely. The man who took over after the pitch, however, was not so eloquent. After I shared my anti-candidate-bashing opinion, between gritted teeth he barely squeezed out a thank you and then hung up before I even had time to say, “Goodbye!”

For the record, I am not an Obama supporter. Nor am I a big fan of Romney. What I support even less than either of these [in-my-humble-opinion] lacking candidates is the political bashing of the other guy… on both sides! My phone is ringing off the hook DAILY with phone calls from political supporters on one side or the other trying to convince me what a schmoe the opponent is. Quite frankly, I am sick to death of each side’s slam-campaign tactics. How many commercials and/or movies can we make about who’s lying about what and how many facts can each side withhold or twist to support their version of the story? How much money can we WASTE doing it? UGH!!!!

I am once again openly declaring myself officially APOLITICAL for the purposes of political marketing, propaganda and bashing. Leave me alone!

I am naturally and pathetically open-minded. I seek alternative opinions to pretty much EVERYTHING… Let me clarify that statement: I seek INFORMED and HONEST opinions! NOT just more “you’re wrong and I’m right” hooey from someone who NEEDS me to believe what THEY believe just to get what they want. The world is FULL of those types. Even my FRIENDS are vying to sway the vote and tip the scales in favor of THEIR choice and opinion. Never have I seen such extraordinary polarization! Salesmen All and I’m not buying any of it! I am sick to death and done with it all! I’ve now officially STOPPED answering the phone for ANY numbers I don’t automatically recognize as friends (and even some of those calls I might not take!). I’m DONE reading friends’ political rants on Facebook and listening to slanted news reporting. I can see through these messages to the hidden, or not-so-hidden agendas of the deliverers! “Vote my way!”

I KNOW all too well that there’s a lot riding on the election for me personally, and for all of us collectively. But I’m a pretty smart and educated woman so, from here on in, I’ll do my own research. I’ll choose my own educators and seek my own truth, as possible, wading through all the lies and propaganda. I will cast my vote for those candidates I believe not only have my and my country’s best interest in mind but also who have the greatest chance of actually achieving the vision of their constituents (not their own political careers). My vote will go to the candidates I think will do the best job helping to lead our country at home and abroad to more prosperous and peaceful times. And, I’ll cast that vote quietly, behind the privacy curtain of the voting booth (yeah, I know… obsolete). Then, I’ll hide behind the now repealed and also obsolete, “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy and keep my choice to myself so that people who feel or think or voted differently will have no grounds to harass me any longer!

You cast your vote and I’ll cast mine. As of this writing, I am now officially publicly A-Political, thank you!

About Maggie

I'm a stay-at-home mother of 3 children including a 15-year-old daughter, the Old Soul, and 11-year-old identical twin boys who've been blessed with an extra 21st chromosome (aka: Down Syndrome). I happily spend my time doing all that I can do -- breaking the proverbial box wide open -- to foster my children's development and then sharing what I learn with you through this blog.
This entry was posted in happiness, peace of mind, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

