Top 10 Reasons I’m Thankful Today!

I need to get back on the Thankful Wagon so my heart doesn’t feel so, well, ungrateful!  So here goes:

Top 10 Reasons I’m Thankful Today:

1. I was and am sooo thankful to hear the pitter patter of little Csiba feet on my stairs at 6:30 AM this morning.  While I would LOVE to sleep in, my 14-year-old chow-chow (aka Bubba) wakes me up every morning for a treat and to go out.  She hasn’t adjusted to daylight savings time yet and has been showing up at 6 AM instead of her usual 7.  But, when she didn’t show up at 6, my heart skipped a beat… worried she might be… (bad thoughts I can’t give words to)!  I laid there, trying unsuccessfully to get back to sleep, hoping she was OK until I heard the shuffle and drag of her little black paws on the stairs. I was oh so happy to get up and accommodate her for another day!  I LOVE this dog soooo deeply!  She is the absolute BEST dog ever, never needing a day of training in her life.  I am so grateful for this UNBELIEVABLY GREAT DOG who took ownership of me (as chow chows are known to do) in KCMO 14 years ago and has never disappointed me… ever!

2. Thankful for a day of rest today!  Yeah!  I don’t really have any contract/paid WORK to do today!  I’m “off” in theory, until around Wednesday when my work starts to pick up again and will quickly get a bit crazy under deadlines.  But I’ll take this one gift of a beautiful, sunny and warm day off to rest and BE [still] with my kids!

3. I’m thankful for that crazy contract work I mentioned above.  Handed to me at just exactly the time when Sarge and I needed a financial boost, I strive to NEVER look this gift horse in the mouth!  It is a job… MY job… while so many I know do not have, are losing or cannot find one!  The hours are flexible and I work from home so that I can attend to my children’s needs and I get paid to do something that I enjoy and comes pretty easily to me (write/edit).  The added bonus: I find the content interesting, engaging and educational. Lucky me! 

4. I’m grateful I’m still learning cool stuff every single day!  My children with special needs (twin boys with Down syndrome and a cool chick with ADD, we think) and the work I do exposes me to information and affords me the opportunity to seek knowledge about a wide array of topics that I, thankfully, find fascinating including psychology for exceptional children (my undergrad degree), education, law and business/facilitating responsible corporate growth.  Topics now consistently on my plate!

5.  Speaking of full plates: I’m thankful for my weight.  Now THAT’S a big one for me!  NO, not the number (though that is too) but the acceptance!  True, I haven’t managed to lose any weight these last 3 months (given other stressors).  BUT, more importantly I HAVE managed NOT to GAIN any!  I’m down a solid 7 lbs this past year and that’s HUGE and a great start at reversing a 10-year trend.

6. I’m thankful in a weird way, for the pain in my neck and shoulder.  You see, it’s just a pain in my neck and shoulder that I know will go away with a few visits to a chiropractor.  A niggling little inconvenient recurrence that happens every 10 years or so, the result of a minor car accident many, many moons ago.  So why am I thankful for it?  First, the reminder of that fateful evening — which was the start of a typical Friday night out dancing with my girlfriend, Lori.  THAT never fails to bring an “ah, the good ol’ days” smile to my face (not about the car accident but fun times with good friends).  Second, every recurrence of this pain has been related to my beautiful children sleeping soundly in the crook of my arm… another heart-warming thought.  And, finally… sadly, I know plenty of people around my age (and younger) who are suffering surgery-requiring ailments, chronic pain and/or serious illnesses. Thank you God… I’ve got none of the above (hear me knocking on all available wood to keep the tree spirits on my side as well)! I am healthy (if not slightly, ahem, overweight) and happy and consider myself lucky to be so!

7. After years and years and more years of trying, I finally FINALLY found someone who could refinance our home despite an open permit (that being the ultimate and automatic deal-breaker).  The new consolidated loan no sooner closed than was repurchased by a reputable bank and we are now on the road to quickly paying down this old house… and we still have a ton of equity in it to boot.  Yeah!

8. Though I recently lost my Dad (79), my Mom (happily remarried for the last 25 years BTW) is still here and getting ready to celebrate her 75th birthday!  She too is healthy and happy and that means the world to me… SHE means the world to me.  Mom’s the one who taught me to be thankful, to have faith and to see that my cup runneth over… none of this half-full cr*p!  Thanks Mom for passing on such good, strong, healthy and happy genes to me!  And for being here… still!  Thanks God!

9. I’m thankful for the choices I’ve had the opportunity to make in my life.  Sure, I’ve made a few mistakes but overall I think I’ve done well… and I’ve experienced so much! Thankfully, nothing has crushed me or my spirit along the way and each decision drove me closer to this life I’m living now. As imperfect as it may be, I am grateful for this life… for the husband I have, for the amazing children I’ve been gifted, for the direction I’m going.  I’m excited about the possibilities. At 48, that’s a gift in itself!

10.  Sometimes I think I’d like a little break from all this great stuff.  A moment to myself.  A little me time to work out without the pressure of all the other stuff I should be doing but I’m not, hanging over my head.  The chance to do whatever I want, whenever I want… Then I find myself missing my kids. And then I remember I did this!  I chose this! I built this!  I had the opportunity to make these choices and live the life I choose  when so many in this world don’t have that option! 

How lucky am I?  To have been born me, here, now!

About Maggie

I'm a stay-at-home mother of 3 children including a 15-year-old daughter, the Old Soul, and 11-year-old identical twin boys who've been blessed with an extra 21st chromosome (aka: Down Syndrome). I happily spend my time doing all that I can do -- breaking the proverbial box wide open -- to foster my children's development and then sharing what I learn with you through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Top 10 Reasons I’m Thankful Today!

  1. I love this post. Such a celebration! I’m reading One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp right now and I’ve been doing lots of thankfulness check-ins recently too. It’s amazing how it turns things from bleak to joyful. Thank you again for your comment on my post at 5 Minutes… and for your prayers for me and my girl. 🙂

    • Maggie says:

      Thanks for coming by Laurie. I’ve always tried to live my life looking at the bright side. When things get tough, I sometimes need reminding. Going to check out that book… it sounds great! Thinking of you and yours.

  2. autobazar says:

    Thanks, it’s usefully

  3. olya says:

    Interesting thinking…

  4. Ralph says:

    Wow! congrats on the refi! i’ve been trying also to refinance my home with an open permit, however, i’ve had no luck. How did you manage to do that?

    • Maggie says:

      Jason Shur at Vanguard Funding. Not sure if they have offices or reps where you are but it’s worth looking into. Found them through a computer sidebar ad for cheap refis. Luckily, my lead was randomly assigned to Vanguard and Jason made it happen… Or,try checking for lenders who accept a short title search. Open permits sometimes don’t show up in the search. Of course, our open permits are really close to being closed w/ only final electric, plumbing and window/door trim outstanding. Keep looking and good luck.

Leave a Reply

