Angel with a “Capitol” A!

Several weeks ago we made an impromptu pilgrimage to Washington DC at the end of our February break.  I’d have written about it earlier but I didn’t have any pictures to go with it.  THAT’S because, through no fault of my own, I left my camera in the dog-friendly apartment we rented for 3 days!  I’d packed everything up but somewhere along the way, The Boys must have tucked the camera away in an obscure cabinet drawer in the bedroom. And though I’d done the walk through prior to our departure, I apparently never opened that drawer. 

So, when things finally settled down after my Dad’s passing (just days after out trip to DC), I realized I didn’t have my trusty camera so I called the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum — the last place I remember actually having the camera in my possession (right before my budding little photographer’s took their 300th picture and wore my batteries out) — thinking someone might see the pics of two matching little boys with Down syndrome on it and return it out of sympathy for us.  Ahh… no!  Then, as I was sending an email to our host landlord, hoping against hope we’d somehow left it there despite believing in the thoroughness of my 3 final walk-throughs, she sent me a note saying she’d found a camera tucked away in a drawer.

Thank God!  And many thanks to Rachel!  Not only did she carefully wrap the camera and send it back to us but her adorable little VRBO.com dog-friendly rental apartment made it possible for us to escape for a few days without paying for dog-care. Bubba and Molly got to see DC with us!  We’ll be making that trip again, to stay with Rachel and thank her personally for sending our camera back… and to get a tour of that big White House.

Truly, there are angels at work in our nation’s capitol after all! 

About Maggie

I'm a stay-at-home mother of 3 children including a 15-year-old daughter, the Old Soul, and 11-year-old identical twin boys who've been blessed with an extra 21st chromosome (aka: Down Syndrome). I happily spend my time doing all that I can do -- breaking the proverbial box wide open -- to foster my children's development and then sharing what I learn with you through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Angel with a “Capitol” A!

  1. Bruce says:

    when my son was about 5 we had to get him glasses. we thought how may pairs are we going to have to buy. we thought he would always keep taking them off and leaving them in weird places. he also had a habit of throwing things down the sewer in front of the house. every ball we owned, toys etc. he also loved give the garbage man extra presents like his brother’s roller blades, his piggy bank (with a lot of money) and a shoe here and there. but in twenty three years he has never lost his glasses. I guess he needed to be able to see what he was throwing away 🙂

    • Maggie says:

      I especially like the gifts to the garbage men. I could see my guys befriending those guys! Though we haven’t had those sorts of habits form…yet (Hear me knockin’ on the table?). If it does, they’ll be double teaming me and I’ll be living a forced minimalist life LOL. Ahh, all the things we see as business-as-usual… it’s a glorified life, for sure! ;o)

Leave a Reply

