BeHave!

After my unpleasant experience at Trader Joe’s a few months ago, I’m a bit sensitive to my children’s behavior in public places.  Given folks have greater expectations of my boys who happen to have Down syndrome (they have to behave like saints to be “allowed” in public places), I am constantly asking my children to behave well in public.  When there’s even the slightest hint that one of my 3 are sliding down the slippery slope I tell them in my most earnest, not-to-be-ignored Mommy voice to reel themselves back in.

Out shopping at Pathmark with my children the other day, I had to use this tactic on my Big Little Man whose behavior was clearly slipping.  Aiming my big long pointer finger at him menacingly, through gritted teeth and in my most purposeful growling voice (you know the one I mean?), I said, “BE… HAVE!” 

To which he promptly and happily replied, “No HAVE!  I Brian!”

He’s so right… He will be who he is…. thankfully!  And I’m glad he knows that… even if I sometimes forget because others want him to be someone else.  He is my Big Little Man and that’s exactly who I want him to be (while he behaves) LOL.

About Maggie

I'm a stay-at-home mother of 3 children including a 15-year-old daughter, the Old Soul, and 11-year-old identical twin boys who've been blessed with an extra 21st chromosome (aka: Down Syndrome). I happily spend my time doing all that I can do -- breaking the proverbial box wide open -- to foster my children's development and then sharing what I learn with you through this blog.
This entry was posted in acceptance, Down syndrome, funny. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BeHave!

  1. jin says:

    As usual, Maggie, I love your writting.

    Here’s my two cents, from the outside looking in. It delights me knowing Brian, Michael, & Oliva have parents who let them be heard, recognized for the person he/they are. Society places way too many stigmas on parents it’s easy to judge when they/others are not in the situation. What is “behaving”? It’s learning, it’s growing, it’s being able to become the persons they are. As for a slippery slope, I see it as children learning boundries.

    As usual in my eyes it is your children who are blessed to have parents such as yourself.

Leave a Reply

